JW HUNT CUP (1926) Part of Wolverhampton's History.
2015/16 JW Hunt Cup winners Sporting Khalsa celebrate their win.

The JW Hunt Cup Charity football competition was formed in 1926 to raise funds for the sole benefit of the local blind.
It is named in memory of John William Hunt, a local business man and benefactor.
JW Hunt founded the local Chillington Tool Company and was a supporter of local charities. 
The firms trademark was the "crocodile", and the crocodile is incorporated into the trophy handles

It has been run every season since 1926/27 season.
The inaugural winners being Short Heath United who beat Cannon Iron at Molineux, Wolverhampton in April 1927.
Over £320,000 has been raised since!.

Season 2015/16 was the JW Hunt Cups 90th Anniversary and a special appeal helped us to donate £12000 to the Beacon Centre. 

Teams compete from the Birmingham, Staffordshire, Shropshire and Worcestershire Football Associations.

In January 2013 JW Hunt Cup President Alex Hamil was presented with the MBE by HRH Prince Charles at Buckingham Palace. Alex received the award for services to football and the visually impaired (Photo above).

2015/16 cheque presentation.

The cheque presentation for season 2015/16 was made at the Beacon Centre on Monday 25th July .
A cheque was handed over for £12000 by committee members present.An excellent donation in our 90th year.(Photo right).

Wolverhampton Sport Advisory Council.

At the 50th Anniversary awards evening of the above two officers of the JW Hunt Cup were presented with awards by the City Mayor Cllr Barry Findlay.                                        Chairman/Treasurer Tony Duncombe received an Award of Merit Certificate and Vice President Eddie Yardley was the cities "Veteran of the Year".   Congratulations and thank you to all for your support.   Phil Read 2015 JW HUNT Cup final referee also received a merit certificate for his service to football.



Thurs 2nd February 2017@ 7.30pm.



on committee page.

Lichfield City/Paget Rgrs v Sporting Khalsa/Pelsall Villa.
Alvechurch v Brocton.
Highgate Utd/Heath Hayes v AFC Wulfrunians.
Wednesfield v Wolves Sporting Community.

7.45pm Tuesday 13th September.
Wednesfield 8 v 0 Wolverhampton United.
Tuesday 20th September 7.45pm.
Lichfield City 7v0 Warstones Wanderers.

Tuesday 4th October 7.45pm.
Heath Hayes 4v2 Lye Town. AET
         Sporting Khalsa 3 v1 Atherstone Town.
AFC Bridgnorth Town 2v3 Darlaston Town (1874).
      Tuesday 11th October 7.45pm.
Alvechurch 7 v0 Continental Star.

Tuesday 18th October 7.45pm.
Round One.        
Highgate United 4v3 Wolves Casuals.
            Wrens Nest Utd 4v6 Penkridge Town AET           
   Round Two.          
Wednesfield 5v4 Darlaston Town (1874).         
Tuesday 25th October 7.45pm.

Round One.

         AFC Wulfrunians 3v2 Wellington Amateurs.
Stone Old Alleynians 0v0 Wyrley FC AET
Stone OA won 5v4 on pens .                   

Tuesday 1st November 7.45pm

Old Wulfrunians 1v8 Paget Rangers.
At AFC Wulfs.
Tuesday 15th November 7.45pm
Round Two
Stone OA 0v3 Wton Sporting Comm.

      Tuesday 22nd November 7.45pm.

Round Two.

                    Sporting Khalsa OFF  Pelsall Villa.                       Waterlogged pitch.   
 Tuesday 6th December 7.30pm.
Round Two.
 Penkridge 1v2 Brocton
 ( played at Brocton ) 
Tuesday 6th December 7.45pm.
Tividale 0v2 Alvechurch.

Tuesday 13th December 7.45pm.
Round Two.
Highgate Utd v Heath Hayes. 
Lichfield City v Paget Rangers

2016/17 DRAW .

Round One.

Lichfield City 7v0 Warstones Wanderers

Bridgnorth Town 2v3 Darlaston

AFC Wulfrunians  3v2 Wellington Amateurs 25/10.

Heath Hayes 4v2 Lye Town AET

Stone Old Alleynians 0v0 Wyrley FC aet

Stone OA won 5-4 on pens.

Highgate United 4v3 Wolverhampton Casuals            

Wrens Nest United 4v6 Penkridge Town

Wednesfield 8 v 0 Wolverhampton United

Sporting Khalsa 3v1 Atherstone Town

Alvechurch 7 v0 Continental Star

Wton Sporting Community 1v0 Hawkins Sport

 Old Wulfrunians 1v8 Paget Rangers


 Tividale,  Brocton,  Penncroft,  and Pelsall Villa.

Round Two.

               Sporting Khalsa vs Pelsall Villa

Tividale 0v2 Alvechurch 6/12
Wednesfield 5v4 Darlaston
AFC Wulfrunians 1v0 Penncroft
                    Paget Rangers vs Lichfield City
Stone Old Alleynians  0v3 Wolverhampton Sporting Community
Penkridge 1v2 Brocton 6/12
@ Brocton
Highgate United  vs Heath Hayes 13/12

CUP FINAL 2015/16
Sporting Khalsa 3v2Wolverhampton Sporting Community .           



We now have a permanent display for the JW Hunt Cup memorabilia in the Steve Bull stand's Reception area
at Molineux. 
Written by Rob on 20. Oct, 2016
Hi Everyone. I'm a football collector & recently had the privilege of speaking with Alex Hamil. He suggested that I post on here, asking if anybody had any footballs from the 50's - 1990's. If so, I'd love to hear from you - even if you don't wish to part with any, it'd be great to see some photos as it's difficult to research older balls. 
Many thanks, Rob




From Roy Butch Butler. Is there any one out there who could give me any information regarding the Torch boys club also Dunstall amateurs f.c. 1959/60. Email  roynshe@yahoo.co.uk

Any Photographs,Programmes, Press cuttings or other items about the JW Hunt Cup over the years. Contact Tony Duncombe 01902 630386 or E mail Dunc4403@aol.com  .

Sponsor Les Pickerill presents the Man of thr Match award.